Crab Spaghetti: Drowning my Sorrows with Food

Ok, I didn’t want to post anything until I actually had some good news to report, but I just realized it’s been a long time since my last post and I don’t want people to think I gave up on the blog.  So I’m posting an update with no good news.  Delays, delays, delays, and our boat is still in shipyard.  Frustrating, but I really think (fingers crossed) that it is almost done… for real this time… I swear.    The boat was sandblasted and primed before the clouds rolled in, so we are waiting for some sunshine and a fresh coat of cobalt blue paint.

Here she is, waiting for her makeover. Come on sunshine!!!

I really don’t want to talk about the boat or the crab season we are missing out on right now, so instead I’m going to post a crab recipe.  Because, how do I distract myself from unpleasant realities?  I eat!

This is a fairly simple recipe for a red spaghetti sauce, but with the addition of crab meat.  Delicious, trust me!

Crab Spaghetti

1/4 cup olive oil

1 medium sized onion, finely chopped

6 cloves of garlic, chopped

3/4 tsp crushed red chile flakes

2 tsp dried basil, or about 8 leaves of fresh basil, chopped

1 tsp dried oregano (or parsley)

1 tsp celery seeds (you can use celery salt if that’s all you have)

1/4 cup half and half

2 – 28 ounce cans of whole peeled tomatoes, undrained

1 pound spaghetti noodles

1 to 2  pounds cooked and cleaned crab meat

salt and pepper, to taste

Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium low heat, add onion, garlic, celery seeds, basil, oregano, and chile flakes.  Stir and cook until onions are soft and translucent, around 10 minutes.  Pour into a blender and add tomatoes (with the juice from the can) and half and half.  Puree until almost smooth (I like mine a little chunky still), then pour back into pan and continue cooking over medium heat for another 30-35 minutes.  Throw the crab meat in and cook for a couple more minutes, until the crab is heated through.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

While the sauce is simmering, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and add spaghetti noodles.  Cook noddles until al dente and drain.

Toss the noodles with the sauce and serve garnished with fresh chopped basil or parsley.

This is based on a recipe from Saveur magazine.  Here is the original recipe.

I wish I had photos to post of this delicious dish, but all it really looks like is spaghetti with red sauce.  It tastes WAY better than it looks.  You will just have to try it out and see for yourself.  If you live on the West coast, find yourself some fresh dungeness crab.

If you need a lesson on cleaning dungeness crab, watch this video from the F/V Refuge out of Newport, Oregon.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Crab Spaghetti: Drowning my Sorrows with Food

  1. Tele

    This sounds delicious, Robin – thanks! I have a hard time resisting my crab straight up with the garlic butter, but am pretty tempted by this. Meanwhile, the cobalt blue sounds lovely, and remember – they don’t all have to be happy posts. I’ll go ahead and speak on behalf of your many readers (hope you guys don’t mind) and say we’re just glad to share in the Blue family’s process – and, the way fishin’ goes, it’s not always fun or pretty. We’re not that easy to drive away; we’re all invested in cheering you guys on now!

    Reply
    1. fishingblues Post author

      Tele, thanks for being my cheerleader! I’m happy to report that the paint is on the boat and it is lookin pretty damn good. Still a few more little repairs, but the boat is almost in the water.
      And I know what you mean about the crab, i prefer it straight up as well, but if you happen to have some left over the next day… (hard to imagine, I know).
      -Robin

      Reply

What do you think?

