Say “No” to the North!

Zed was only supposed to be home for a week, just a break from halibut/blackcod longlining in Alaska, and we were dreading sending him back up to finish his last trip. With the realization that he could pick up a short trip dungeness crabbing down here (back on the F/V Pacific Hustler) and make more money than he would longlining in AK, he cancelled his plane ticket (with the OK from his AK skipper, of course) and got ready to go crabbing again.  Amazingly there is still money to be made dungeness crabbing in Washington. Usually the season is pretty much done by now, but it’s been a spectacular one, and it’s still going!

We are all happy that Zed be staying in state and will be able to enjoy the mild Washington Springtime. So far we’ve been having fun playing with the kids, going on family bike rides, and splashing in lots of puddles (it’s been raining a lot).  I’ve been planting in my garden, and then battling the slugs that are hell bent on eating my freshly sprouted seedlings.  Luckily I’ve trained the kids to hunt down the slugs and dump them into the storm drain next to our house.  They are pretty good at it- they like putting the slugs into “the slug home” – and I don’t have to deal with the grossness of the usual methods of slugicide.

It is amazing how much easier life is with a second parent around. For example, today I actually went grocery shopping by myself and then took a nap with Larkyn (our 2 yr old). After 6 weeks by myself with the kids, little luxuries like naps are much appreciated! This evening Zed played with the kids in the yard while I made dinner.  I pan roasted a fillet of ling cod and it turned out pretty good.  I sprinkled it with salt and seared it in oil over medium/high heat until it got a nice brown crust, then I put in in a 350° oven until it was cooked all the way through (flaked apart).  When I pulled it out of the oven I squeezed some lemon on it and made a quick “sauce” of olive oil, a crushed clove of garlic, and some dried herbs, and drizzled it over the fish.  The kids actually loved it and ate a couple helpings each.  SUCCESS!  I definitely recommend the pan roasting technique…  I’m realizing as I write this that I should have taken a photo of the meal- the golden crust on the fish looked beautiful- but you will just have to imagine it (and try it out yourself!).

2 thoughts on “Say “No” to the North!

  1. Hello – Interesting blog! I understand your issue with slugs – I am having a slug problem myself. They are eating everything. Do you have any suggestions?

    I was looking for advice online and came across this slug video – it’s hilarious! Thought I’d share for a laugh! 🙂 http://youtu.be/cMssG-66oTE

    -Michelle

    • Michelle,
      I read that if you sprinkle coffee grounds around your plants the slugs don’t like to crawl over them, but it didn’t work as well for me as the sluggo pellets. The only thing about those is that you are supposed to reapply them after every rain… well it pretty much rains every day in the spring here, so it’s getting expensive. Good luck, and let me know if you find something that works better than the sluggo.
      -Robin

What do you think?

