Japanese Fish Tacos

Japanese + fish + tacos?  How could you go wrong?  Well, it turns out – you can’t!  Fish tacos have always been my favorite, so when I saw a recipe in Sunset Magazine for Japanese Fish Tacos, I got really excited!

I made these for dinner tonight and I thought I’d share with you my simplified version (when you’re cooking for kids, like I am, the cooking process needs to be sped up a bit).

Japanese Fish Tacos (makes 12-14 tacos)

First of all, the original recipe calls for fresh albacore tuna, but think you could get away with just about any kind of fish.  I used halibut tonight, but you could use rockfish, any kind of cod, tilapia, you could even use salmon.

1-2 lbs of boneless, skinnless fish fillets, cut into bite sized chunks or strips

2 TBSP vegetable oil, for the pan

salt

Generously salt the fish chunks and fry them quickly over high heat, in a pan with the oil.  The fish is done when it is opaque all the way through and easily flakes apart.  Set fish on a paper towel on a plate.

Serve with:

Sesame Coleslaw

3 cups cabbage, (red, green, napa, or a mix) thinly sliced

1/2 cup grated carrot

2 or 3 green onions, white and green parts thinly sliced

I added 1/2 a cucumber, cut into matchsticks, just because I have a ton of it in my garden right now

1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil

1 TBSP lemon juice

1 TBSP rice vinegar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp sugar

mix all the ingredients for the coleslaw in a medium bowl

Wasabi Mayo

1 cup mayo

2 TBSP lemon or lime juice

2 tsp prepared wasabi paste, or powdered wasabi

salt to taste

thoroughly mix all ingredients together

12-14 corn tortillas, warmed in a pan to soften

Assemble a tortilla piled with fried fish and coleslaw, then drizzle with Wasabi Mayo.

That’s it!  It’s very simple and it’s hard to screw it up.  I apologize for the lack of photo documentation with this recipe.  The tacos looked pretty on my plate, but my crappy camera made them look unappetizing on the screen.  In the dim yellow light of my dining room, everything looks yellowed and I didn’t think anyone would be enticed by yellowish washed out fish tacos.  So you will just have to use your imagination and take my word for it that they were beautiful and delicious.

2 thoughts on “Japanese Fish Tacos

  1. Robin,
    This afternoon Erik showed me your taco recipe and said that it was what he wanted to have for dinner tonight. We took out halibut from the freezer this afternoon, then and I started on the coleslaw and wasabi mayo. When our company came over in the evening all that was left was to cook the halibut. Everyone loved it and it was so simple. Even Britta, who is now two and a half now, had some. Thanks for the recipe. -Lacey and fam

    • Thanks Lacey,
      I’m so glad you all liked it! I am always looking for new seafood recipes so it’s fun to be able to share the successful ones.
      Are you guys planning any trips down south? It would be great to see you all!
      -Robin

What do you think?

