What Ever Happened to the Blues?

I think I’m way overdue for a Blue family update.  I’ve been writing new blog posts, but I realize that I’ve been leaving out details of our new boat/fishing/business operation.  I think I’ve just been too stressed out and depressed about the whole situation to write about it and share it with the world… until now!

If you are a regular reader of this blog you’ve probably been thinking, “didn’t they buy a boat?”  If you are new to this blog you are probably thinking, “what the hell is she talking about?”  So first, for any new readers, I will try to summarize what our family has been working on for the last year.  One year ago, my husband (Zed) and I purchased a sixty foot commercial shrimp boat in Alabama, fixed it and converted it to a crab boat for fishing on the Washington State coast.

Our boat in shipyard in Alabama last year (and our dog, Dora)

As these types of projects seem to go, we went over schedule and way over budget.  Zed spent four straight months in Alabama working on the boat and then two months traveling, bringing the boat around through the Panama Canal, and up the Pacific coast.  By the time he arrived in Washington with the boat, the crabbing season (our main source of income) was mostly over.

We have spent the last six or seven months just doing whatever it takes to stay afloat (literally and figuratively) until next crab season.  Essentially, our boat has been docked for most of the year because it is only rigged for crabbing and we couldn’t afford to set it up for any other fisheries.  Zed used our boat to tender for crab, but he’s mostly been working as a deckhand on another boat longlining for blackcod.  I have picked up several odd jobs to help make ends meet, including some freelance writing for www.alaskajobfinder.com, babysitting kids in our neighborhood, and teaching a preschool art class (okay, this last one is more just for fun).  I even painted our neighbors fence!

Essentially, I have spent the last year raising two kids (and two dogs and a cat) on my own.  I’m not gonna lie to you – it’s been a rough year.  We have been barely scraping by, not even able to pay our bills some months, let alone pay off any of the personal debts we have recently acquired.

Captain Larkyn, you might want to turn those around

But I am happy to report, things are just starting to turn around!  We are slowly finding our way out of the woods, so to speak.  Last week we signed the final papers to refinance our boat loan and to finance some much-needed improvements to the boat.  This loan has been in the works for months now and I can hardly believe it is over and done with!  I’ve been sleeping better the last few nights knowing we are in a safer financial situation.

Between now and the start of the crab season (sometime in January) we have a lot of work to do – putting our boat in shipyard and installing a refrigeration system and a new generator (to start), getting our crab gear in order, buying new crab pots, painting buoys, cutting line, and all the other fun preparations that happen before a season.  All of this work will happen here in Bellingham, or nearby, and I look forward to having my husband home every night.

stack of crab pots last year

big pile of lines and buoys

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At the same time, I don’t have any expectations that things will get any easier just because Zed is in town.  I am well aware of the never-ending duties of a boat owner.  This is a very important time of year for us – it is absolutely essential that our boat is ready to fish when the season starts or we could miss out on our most profitable fishing of the year.  In short, Zed will be burning the candle at both ends and I don’t expect to see too much of him, except maybe when I’m bringing him lunch down at the harbor!

Zed and Atticus on the boat

I think we have another rough year ahead of us – I don’t see any breaks in sight until the summer, at least – but we have hope that this coming crab season will be profitable and bring us further out of debt.  That’s what fishing is all about: working your absolute hardest and hoping for the best.  Wish us luck!

And Happy Thanksgiving to all my American readers!

 

 

8 thoughts on “What Ever Happened to the Blues?

  1. Good timing on this one, Robin; I got all excited to see the Robin Blue moving around the other day, and wondered how things were going. Good on you for being honest about what’s such a huge, unglamorous part of fishing for so many of us – struggling financially, the physical & emotional exhaustion of holding homes/boats/families together, and everything it takes to even be able to GO fishing, let alone hopefully earn some money and time. Big cheers for all of the Blues for what you’ve gone through over the past year; I’ll be hoping for the best for you this crab season!

    • Thanks Tele,
      We have high hopes for this season! It may not be glamorous, but it’s our life for now. Are you going to be at Fish Expo on Wednesday? If I don’t see you there I’ll see you at your party!
      -Robin

  2. Hang in there guys, we did the same thing (built a boat for puget Dungys)somehow you just get by, San Fran went in about a week ago and crushed them, heard tests for coast is strong, price is high, keep the glass 1/2 full, your gonna have a great season. Good fishin-JD

    • JD,
      Thank you so much for the encouraging words. It really does help to hear from people who have been in our position and come out on top. And the numbers are looking good for this season! Everyone seems to be in agreement that it will be a good one.
      Hope you are having a good Thanksgiving weekend!
      -Robin

  3. Aw, I just love everything about you guys. That pic of Larkyn is fantastic. As always, your writing is honest and beautiful. I hope this crab season is fantastic. We need a good season, too. Let’s do this! 🙂 xoxo

What do you think?

